

## **Press release**

## Aart Jan de Geus to become new Chair of ABP's General Board

Heerlen/Amsterdam, 28 February 2025. **Aart Jan de Geus (69) is appointed independent Chair of ABP's General Board from 1 March. He succeeds Loek Sibbing, who retired on 31 December 2024.** 

Aart Jan de Geus' background

**Aart Jan de Geus**: "ABP provides a good pension for approximately 3.1 million participants and 3,500 employers in the government and education sectors. I look forward to taking up the position of Chair of ABP's General Board and contribute to the good governance of the largest pension fund in the Netherlands."

**Alfred Kool, non-executive director**: "Aart Jan de Geus has a long track record and is a highly experienced director in various sectors and organisations. We are delighted that he wants to assume the position of independent Chair of ABP's General Board."

**Harmen van Wijnen, Chair of the Executive Board**: "Aart Jan de Geus is a welcome addition to ABP's Board. We look forward to working together with him."

De Geus has experience as a director at various profit and non-profit organisations in the financial and other sectors. From 2007 to 2011 he was Deputy Secretary-General of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). Before that, he was Minister for Social Affairs and Employment in the Balkenende I, II and III cabinets from 2002 to 2007. De Geus obtained a propaedeutic degree in accountancy, a PhD in Dutch law from Utrecht University and a post-doctoral degree in employment law from Erasmus University Rotterdam.

## General Board composition

ABP's General Board determines the general policy and strategy. The Board consists of executive and non-executive directors and an independent chair. The executive directors are in charge of the day-to-day operations of the fund and maintain external contacts. The non-executive directors are responsible for internal supervision. As from 1 March 2025, ABP's General Board will have the following composition:

- Executive directors: Harmen van Wijnen (Chair), Yolanda Verdonk (executive director, pension policy), Jack Julicher (executive director, investment policy).
- Non-executive directors nominated by employee organisations: Aldert Boonen, Patrick Fey, André van Vliet and one vacancy.
- Non-executive directors nominated by employers: Krista Nauta, Vandena van der Meer-Gangapersadsing, Alfred Slager, Roelie van Wijk and one vacancy.
- Non-executive directors nominated by retirees: Marjolein ten Kroode, Rob Becker and Alfred Kool.
- Independent Chair: Aart Jan de Geus (appointment for one year).